Newest
Older
Profile
BrandiGirl

D-Lish
The Waltman
Doodle
Bombara
BRUCE
DgDesigns
Host

To Sir with Love
2002-07-17 // 2:08 p.m.

My Life as a song

To Sir with Love

ok ok, I get two points, it's a movie and a song!

I watched a movie last night about a young boy name Sir, who grew up in the �ghetto.� His mother abandoned him when he was 3, then when he was 11 she showed up and dropped off his brother who was 2 or so I guess. Sir lived with his grandmother, but he took care of his brother as if he was his own. Gangs and violence surrounded him. Then Sir was in high school, he went to a better school further away because if his talent in football and his grades. It showed him in high school, up late with his brother one night who had a fever, as he called out for his grandmother for help she never responded because she had passed away! Now his Mother is back in the picture, trying to stay off drugs. He is working, studying, taking care of his brother and playing football! Then the mother disappears, he gives his brother to his aunt who only will take the young boy in, not Sir. He goes days without food at home, a friend was shot and killed, and he is doing terrible on the field and actually passes out because he hasn�t eatin.. (ok I�m sure that was more for the affect of the story).

The movie ends with him having a great year, getting into college to be near his brother who had moved away with his aunt.

Ok so I�m thinking, ah that was a nice feel good story, bout this young boy who survived the ghetto.. Then, it started showing live clippings of him playing at Texas A&M, winning a championship game, breaking records, and then in the NFL with the Bengals� I was like oh my word that was a true story (not just another spike lee movie) although his usually end tragically don�t they� ok lets say John Singleton then..

Ok so now the point of all this� that made me start thinkin� what is it that does determine our fate.. and I know this has been brought up before! A friend has always questioned that if our life is predetermined then why do we pray? Why do we ask for things to turn out a certain way.. it�s already determined, right? What made Sir, stay on track? Why do some rich kids who seem to have it all turn rebellious.. is it predetermined, or is it the decisions we make! How come one person can dabble with drugs but the next can become so addicted that they lose everything. Are we a product of nature.. or nurture�Even dealing with sexuality, people cant� seem to figure it out, everyone has there own theory, but who is right? Except for me of course, cause I know the answer to that one..

When I was a Social Worker working with this young girl who couldn�t stay out of trouble because of her surroundings and influences, I just knew if she was in a different home, a different school, a different town, she would rise to her potential that I saw in her..I mean she did great when we were working together. but after I moved I found out that she dropped out of school and got into drugs. So did the nurture get taken away and she fell product to her nature??

I think we have a path, but as asked yesterday when we have a fork in the road, isn�t it up to US internally to make that decision and with each different decision we make doesn�t that change our path? But yes, lets hope those forks don�t run into dead ends.. only U turns!�.. Good god Becky---IM DONE


4 You got sumpin to say??

Seventeen//Pretty & Witty & GAY