Newest
Older
Profile
BrandiGirl

D-Lish
The Waltman
Doodle
Bombara
BRUCE
DgDesigns
Host

You're Nobody till somebody Loves U
2002-07-24 // 3:06 p.m.

YOU�RE NOBODY TILL SOMEBODY LOVES YOU

--------My Father�.aka Dean Martin

Jump on people you�re about to take a ride down memory lane!

It all started last Wednesday, at dinner with Joanne, then came up again on Thursday with Laura and CA, then again in the car driving to Charlotte�

�Kimi.. what � what are you talking about?�

While Joanne and I were discussing our young adulthood antics, we brought up the night that I was driving home, we were dancin in the car, drunk dancin I might add, and got pulled over by the cops. He had me on the side of the road doing all that dui testin stuff� now mind you, I kinda tricked them on one because I had a honda crx, which are very low to the ground and the one where I had to balance on one foot with the other one out� I had my other leg (calf) leaning up against the car to help me balance.. shhhhh don�t tell� well, that night at din din Joanne precedes to tell me that till this day she still thinks we got out of that because, because, my father�s connection to the Mafia�I was like what? Nuh ah�. No way.. �that�s what I think�

I had the greatest father..my parents were divorced, but they did a great job making sure we all stayed close. We spent Sundays with my father and the rest of the week with my mom. I always kinda felt bad for my Mom ya know because she had to lay down the law with us, and my Dad� he got to play with us, and kidnap us..I remember one time he kidnapped us and we drove 3 hours for some thrashers French fries and then got right back in the car and drove home.. If I recall my Mom wasn�t so thrilled bout that one�

My father was a bookie� I can tell you that now because unfortunately he passed away 3 years ago. On Sundays at his house obviously he had to work.. cumon NFL.. (and you wonder why I am such a Redskins fan till this day!) He would give us those cards you fill out with all the teams and the spread and we would have �free� bets with him, or he would give us a free bet with a certain team so we would help him cheer for the team that would win him the mula..

So now you may get the connection to Joanne thinking my father was a part of the Mafia. Somehow my father�s occupation came up again the next night while talking to Laura and CA, I told her what he did for a living and his �connection� to the mafia� I really don�t know if he did or not to be honest.. I remember as a kid, very curious about his profession, especially after all those bookie, Mafia movies� Lil� ole me goes to my father� �daddy do you break peoples legs if they don�t pay you?� (good question don�t you think.) He thankfully said �No Kimi, I just won�t bet with them again and I make sure they can�t bet with anyone else.�

Well, this mafia thing can actually work in your favor. When I was dating this guy Lloyd, he used to say the same thing. �Your father has to have some connection with the Mafia, and again I would say �I really don�t think so, but I don�t know. Lloyd and I broke up on not so great terms and during one of our phone conversations he proceeded to tell me that he would turn my father in� (here is where the part gets good).. I say �GO AHEAD, AND LETS SEE WHAT HAPPENS TO YOU� needless to say, daddy made it through that spineless little threat!

I�d like to think that I am a lot like my father, I�ve got the gambling bug, the drinking bug, the dancing bug, and best of all the social bug. (all us desarno�s have that one)

My father sang a lot and sounded just like Dean Martin.. I can hear him now singing.. �You�re nobody till somebody�� loves you��..� Well I guess I must be somebody cause I know my daddy loved me!


10 You got sumpin to say??

Here you come again//Punxsutawney